Alexander Film Works

As It Happens…

In Just Because..., Roughly About Films on April 19, 2012 at 3:14 pm

I’ve had a few things to think about aside from the usual anxieties which crop up at the tag end of a semester.

I heard Jonathan Frid, who played Barnabas Collins in the 1970’s ABC version of Dark Shadows, died at the age of 87.  A part of my young adulthood has gone, since I used to dial by the show occasionally after getting home from high school.

Dark Shadows, The Gong Show, and Star Trek reruns were what I remember from that time.  It was not all beer and skittles, as they say, but it was what it was…

And Dick Clark’s passing affected (and affects) so many people… those who grew up on American Bandstand, or the earlier incarnation, Philadelphia Bandstand, the Bloopers shows with Dick and Ed McMahon, The $10,000/$20,000 Pyramid, or any of the shows he produced or hosted over the years.  A hole has been torn in the sainted memory of many a teenager of the 1950’s/1960’s/insert your own decade that can’t be filled, not even by Dick Clark-clone Ryan Seacrest.

In the meantime, I am working my fantail off trying to get every T dotted and every I crossed on my schoolwork (read that again, carefully… you’ll get it), spending inordinate amounts of time editing footage for my capstone production class (with two scenes still needing to be shot), and trying to clean out my house in preparation for our move out of state later this year.  The date is hazy, but the destination isn’t… and that’s all I’ll say for now, to those who haven’t heard yet.

Such is the way of things…

Cheers!

  1. Keep up the hard work–the end is in sight!

Leave a Reply

