Alexander Film Works

What We Have Here…

In Just Because..., Roughly About Films on April 12, 2012 at 2:01 pm

…is failure to connect the brain-dots.

I have not been doing much creative work of late, because of school.  I have about two weeks left, and things are moving toward (concept alert) The Great Mongolian Clusterf**k Of All Time.  (Or at least that’s how it feels at times.)

I decline to say bad things about the instructors I have, or have had, until I have safely gotten that piece of paper in my hands, but there will be much to say later.

I have difficulty following the comics I want to on the Web, purely from a time standpoint.  I have, between routine and necessary home maintenance chores, errands, and trying to pass miracles on an almost-daily basis, precious little time to do things for my wife, or for me, or for the two of us.  (I still haven’t gotten to see The Artist on the big screen yet.)  My wife’s car is turning into a junior-grade hangar queen, and mine is acting like a thoroughly discombobulated beater car.

I have friends who have apparently suffered with medical issues dealing with cognition, the concerns of trying to find space for my wife to do her art in advance of a “steampunk” convention we’re selling at on Memorial Day weekend while not overcrowding other storage areas or rooms in the house, trying to monitor my blood sugar so I don’t crash or freak (the joys of low-level Type II Diabetes), and editing footage from our team’s days of shooting while trying to juggle live chainsaws to get the last two scenes in the can… Well, I’m sure you get the picture.

This is not a life for the faint of heart, or the sensitive of stomach.

This is not the life I signed up for, by any stretch of the imagination, but it’s what I’ve got, so it’s basically “soldier, shut up and soldier”.

Cheers!

  1. Probably a wise decision regarding mums the word for professors! Love “The Great Mongolian Clusterf**k, that’s a new one for me, but I like it! 🙂

    • I got that one from the end of a George Carlin HBO special when he was reacting to what people said about “Seven Words You Can Never Say On Television”, and was reeling off a series of expressions using the four-letter synonym for coital activity… that one came up, and I took special notice of it. (I would think so…)
      Later, in the Clint Eastwood movie Heartbreak Ridge, Eastwood, as Gunnery Sergeant Thomas Highway, told a general that a mobilization drill was a “clusterf**k” because it was (in my estimation) an unsuccessful Chinese fire drill.
      Words, words, words… so much fun to play with.

Leave a Reply

