Alexander Film Works

An Oasis of Sanity (?)

In It Bugs Me, Just Because..., Think About It on May 13, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Is the world going crazy, or am I?

Some fundamentalist Muslim dingbat kidnaps over three hundred schoolgirls and threatens to sell them into marriages, because his interpretation of the Qu’Ran holds that women should never be allowed education…

A racist nutjob who doesn’t recognize the existence, let alone the sovereignity, of the United States tries to start a war with the Bureau of Land Management because he hasn’t been paying grazing fees for feeding his herd on Federal land for something like twenty years, and more gun-happy “right wing” nutjobs join in…

More political asshats, flying under the banner of the Republican Party, are making more and more outrageously racist, classist, sexist, and elitist remarks that get reported, and they make the “excesses” of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette seem tame…

I don’t think these people see the cognitive disconnect between what they say they believe and what they say for public consumption.

Were it not for the fact that those alleged humans are trying to dismantle the foundations of representative government here in the U.S., I’d feel more comfortable ignoring them completely.

Unfortunately for me, there is no way I can, in good conscience, ignore them and stay true to what I believe in as an American.

I do not believe that either side of the gridlock that exists has all the answers. (Truth to tell, I am becoming more convinced by the day that no one has any answers. To anything.)

Still, we continue to do the best we can with the information we have at the time. When we learn better, we can do better.

The question is, do we? In our current system, it’s “money talks, suckers walk”“Murphy’s Golden Rule: Those who have the gold make the rules”“We have the best government money can buy”

These attitudes, cynical as they may be, make it hard for me to stay a loyal, patriotic American. But I doubt I’d find it better anywhere else.

And that’s a shame.

Now would be the time for me to propose sweeping changes to our system to bring things under control… Only thing is, I got nothing.

Maybe some other clever person can come up with something… I’m dry.

And that’s a shame, too.

Leave a Reply

