Alexander Film Works

The (Almost) Food-Free Diet Plan…

In It Bugs Me, Just Because..., no excuses on April 20, 2013 at 6:01 pm

I’d been holding off a little while before I write about this, but it is a part of my life now, and I think it should be discussed.

Recently, at Project Healthy Living, my wife and I got our blood tested for allergies – they offered a few different profiles to choose from. The cereal grains profile showed I was allergic to wheat gluten, rice, barley, rye, and buckwheat. This was not news I was eager to have; but wheat allergies are more common than most people think, and it would explain certain things about my life.

The more irritating part is that I’m actually more allergic to rice than to gluten, so using rice as an alternative to wheat (as is done with most gluten-free products) was not an alternative.
So I find myself eating things like shiatake noodles (made from a type of yam), quinoa (pronounced KEEN-wa), sorghum flour, tapioca flour, and other things outside the “normal” realms of food.
Fortunately for me, I don’t have more than a couple of issues with meat, so if it doesn’t have monosodium glutamate, sodium nitrates, or sodium nitrites, I can have it. (There’s uncured bacon that doesn’t have it, so I am not deprived of this marvelous food.) I can also have coffee; I stopped drinking sugar in my coffee years ago, when I found out I was diabetic, so that’s not an issue. I also found I like soy milk and almond milk better, in many cases, than cow’s milk.
So, then, wish me luck… hopefully, this will increase the general tenor (as well as the soprano and baritone) of my health.
Sometime again!

Leave a Reply

