Alexander Film Works

Another Year Older…

In Just Because... on December 21, 2012 at 8:58 pm

It’s been five days since my birthday, back on the 16th.  The Mayan Apocalypse wouldn’t dare happen on my birthday week… it just isn’t good form.

Good Solstice, happy Yule, Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, good Kwanzaa, or whatever you celebrate around this time of year.  I wish you well.

As I edge ever onward into the third millennium, it amazes me sometimes that civilization as we know it (whether it is “civilization” or not is debatable) is fractionating into the conservative wackos, the Bible-thumping bloviating nut jobs, the ultra-liberal sob sisters, the apathetic sheep, and the occasional freethinker, who acquires facts, considers them, and opines honestly about them, despite all consequences.

As you may have deduced, I consider myself in that last group – the smallest of them all.  It’s a proud and lonely thing to be a freethinker.

I don’t always put all my opinions out there for people to see; some of them are irrelevant to people outside my immediate family, some of them would cause more headaches than the airing of them would be worth, and some of them aren’t done being considered yet.  Whether or not I write them down is entirely my decision.

As for the opinions others express, if I don’t explicitly respond to them, then I haven’t chosen to do so.  This doesn’t mean I have no opinion; it means I’ve chosen not to express it.

I dislike being misinterpreted for what I do say, and I refuse to be misinterpreted for what I don’t say.

If this is confusing, then just think about it for a while.  It may come to you.

The infamous “they”, the source of so many proverbs in general use today, says that “With age comes wisdom”.  I say that it ain’t necessarily so; some people can live the full Biblical threescore and ten and still be as dumb as a box of rocks, while I’ve heard ten year old children come up with the most sublime and succinct pieces of observation out there.  So age, in and of itself, has little or nothing to do with it.

In fact, the only benefit of age that I can think of is the catalog of experiences, good, bad, or indifferent, that having lived a longer time brings to the table.  You have more to judge things against.  That’s about the sum total of it, as I see things.

And remember, the opinions expressed here do not represent those of any person in this multiverse, living, dead, or otherwise.  Your mileage may vary.  All other standard disclaimers apply.

Live long and prosper.

Leave a Reply

