Alexander Film Works

An Ending, And A Beginning…

In Just Because... on May 5, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Today I received the email notification from university… my final grades are in.  I’ve passed all my classes.

I am officially a graduate, with the degree conferred upon me of Bachelor of Arts.

Yay.

About damn time, too.

The overwhelming feeling I have at this moment is one of relief the ordeal is finished.  “Why do you keep hitting yourself in the head with a hammer?” the question goes.

“Because it feels so good when you stop,” is the reply.

It was problematic when I was working through it… but now, I’m done.  Am I likely to continue on for advanced degrees?  About the same likelihood of flying to the moon by flapping my arms.

In other words, “I don’t think so.”

One thing I’ve learned for sure this go-round in the educational system… they are thoroughly capable of sucking the joy out of something you love.  The chance of my letting my creative self fall into their clutches again are about equal to the chance of a nitrocellulose dog chasing an asbestos cat through the middle tailrace of Hell.

Next post, a different subject… I actually review a movie!

Will wonders never cease?

  1. Congratulations! So gratifying! And you are right, they do have a way of sucking the fun out. I don’t know what happened to me, but I graduated with 146 hours, (26 more than I needed). The dean of the school, who taught my chemistry class was only too happy to let me substitute Creative Writing in lieu of Freshman English II in my Senior year just to get rid of me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

