Alexander Film Works

Halcyon Days of Yore…

In It Bugs Me on December 24, 2011 at 8:32 pm

Most people seem to have at least one pleasant memory of Christmastime… something that they share with friends and family throughout the rest of their lives.

Much like with almost everything else, I differ from the norm… I don’t have any vivid memories of this time of year, other than my grandmother dying on the 13th of the month, three days before my seventh birthday.

Despite being born this time of year, and despite living in the north most of my life, I don’t like cold.  I don’t want to be cold.  Given a choice, I’ll take warm, semi-dark, and indoors any day of the week.  Unfortunately, that doesn’t happen very often.

I sit here this Christmas Eve, waiting for two grades to come from Wayne State, which will finish out the grades for this term, and the next term starts after the first of the year… the final term before I graduate.

<sound of knocking>  Knock whatever.

Once again, not exactly pleasant.  But at least nobody died today…

I can say one thing with certainty – going back to university has tempered my once-enthusiastic will to write and shoot film willy-nilly with the knowledge that some <deleted> <deleted> with a Pee-Aitch <deleted> Dee is going to find something to criticize one way or the other.

That, too, is something that happens, whether I want it to or not.  {Usually not.}

What it leaves me, for the most part, is tired.  Both “tired” as in lack of sleep, and “tired” as in weary to the soul of the way the world worked out to be.

Thing is, I’m not done yet.  In fact, I’m not even sure what I’m supposed to be doing.

Helluva mess for someone fifty-five, eh?

Such is the way of things, I suppose.

More on another subject later… I think.

Leave a Reply

