Alexander Film Works

It’s That Time Of Year…

In Think About It on December 17, 2011 at 7:15 pm

The end of the calendar year always has resonances for me.  Not all of them are good, but that’s just me, I suppose…

The 9th of the month is  my late mother-in-law’s birthday.  She loved me as an extra son, calling me her “bonus boy”.  She died last year.  We both miss her.

The 13th is the anniversary of my grandmother’s passing in 1963.  I still miss her, but less as time goes by.  (Unfortunately.)

The 16th is my birthday… yes, all mine own.

The 19th is my wife’s baby brother’s birthday… who was killed in a car crash in 1977.

The 25th is, of course, Xmas.

The 31st is New Year’s Eve, or as we called it back in the day, Amateur Night.  All these wannabes would go out and try to get as trashed as they could, and usually decorated the roots of bushes, gutters, parked cars, or their own shoes.

They didn’t know how to stretch it out.

But that was then… now I don’t do that any more.

Ah, well.  Such is the way of things.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

