Alexander Film Works

Arguing Religiously

In Film and Related, It Bugs Me on October 7, 2011 at 11:04 am

Contrary to what the title may have you thinking, this is NOT about religion… unless you consider the division between Windows and Mac users a religious question.

I have been a dedicated user of Windows/PC machines and software since MS-DOS 1.1; when PC’s started subscribing to the WIMP paradigm (Windows, Icons, Mouse, Pointers), I reluctantly went along.  I still stayed with the Wintel architecture, though.

Now, I have had to jump full-bore into the Intel/Mac/OS X world, since Wayne State University is a Mac shop by and large, and the only editing software they teach is Final Cut Pro 7.

I looked up the hardware requirements for FCP 7, and the minimum is a dual-core Intel processor Mac.  So I had to buy one, at a cost less than retail, but still substantial for a poor college student like me.

More later…

  1. Did you design the site this well with the default blog tools? Your blog is incredible.

  2. I enjoyed your blog. It’s easy to read, the content is good, and your an educated writer unlike most of the blogs I come across when searching on this topic. I will check back in the future and see if you have anymore articles. Thanks for posting this, I appreciate the infomration and the effort you put into your site.

  3. I especially like your last paragraph – and I did start a blog – two in fact – just a few months ago! I always write letters to my children at Christmas – sometimes more often, but at least once a year. They know their letters will be in their stockings! Probably wouldn’t do anything you said not to – just a little bit inhibited! But that’s just me. Congratulations on being freshly pressed!

  4. I love your blog, you should add an RSS feed feature so I can get automatic notifications of new blogs. If you set one up please email me! i will bookmark you for now. Again Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

