Alexander Film Works

Focus on the Unfocused

In Film and Related, It Bugs Me on August 28, 2011 at 9:16 pm

In less than one week, I will be starting back at Wayne State University for one of my final terms.  I have most of my books already, and my tuition and fees are paid for as of this point; I just have to pay for my parking permit and determine what my last class will require in the way of textbooks and materials.

I did receive a disheartening bit of news… I did not pass the Math Qualification Exam to allow me to skip taking a math class for my degree.  Since I have taken the exam twice, I am not eligible to take it again.

Bummer.

This term is filled with my major requirement classes, Field Production & Editing, Screenwriting, and Producer’s Workshop, along with a film history class focusing on the 1950’s (declining audience, 3D, widescreen, Technicolor, HUAC, the Blacklist, and the end of the studio system’s golden age).  So, next term it looks as though I have to take an algebra class to make up the last parts of my degree requirements, as well as the last few major classes I need.

Don’t get me wrong, please… I don’t hate math.  I just find anything past what I need to figure out what I need for planning and shooting film a distraction from what I want to do.

Oh, well… the countdown’s on.

Leave a Reply

