Alexander Film Works

If We Don’t Think About It…

In It Bugs Me on August 2, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Just in time, it seems, the Congress [opposite of progress? – just asking] has come up with a “compromise” solution to stave off the credit default by the U. S. Government.  Nobody seems happy with it, which doesn’t much surprise me.

Things that actually matter – like helping preserve and protect the lives of ordinary Americans who have lost their jobs, who are being squeezed to death by increasing corporate demands on higher interest rates and higher payments, or who don’t make incomes to place them in the top five percent of America – are being ignored, or are in danger of being cut by the so-called “supercommittee of 12” mandated by this compromise bill.  And the “tea party” yammerheads (they know who they are, and so do we) are still barking about their opposition to taxes – ANY new taxes, or anything that LOOKS like a tax.

As an aside, I assume (and you know how that could backfire on me) that these congresscritters are applying their version of the “duck test” to these programs… you know, if it LOOKS like a duck, WALKS like a duck, QUACKS like a duck, then it’s a duck.

Having just finished taking a critical thinking competency exam earlier today, this grates particularly on my synapses… It appears to me that “logic” (in the sense the general public uses) and the thinking processes of these Members of Congress (I’ll not grant them the status of sapient thought processes… there’s been no demonstrable data to infer that from the record) are about three or four time zones apart.

As for this Committee of Twelve… who selects them?  Who oversees them?  And why does their recommendation need to be voted “up or down” without debate or amending?

It seems to me like a blatant circumvention of the legislative process as outlined in the Constitution of the United States.  (And, yes, I have read it… several dozen times.)

But that’s just my opinion, and because I don’t have billions of dollars, or because I don’t run a multinational corporation, or because I’m not a celebrity, my opinion doesn’t count.

Well, that’s the way things go, it seems… until they want my vote.

We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

